Teachers from Across Fauquier Honored In Award Ceremony


David Achter

Winning teachers stand for a picture alongside school board members and the superintendent during their award ceremony

Teachers from across the county were honored at the Teacher of the Year award ceremony tonight in the FHS cafeteria. A teacher was nominated from each school, and each had a kind testimonial read to the crowded room with lots of applause each.

Coach Bryan Grimley, FHS’s winner, who wasn’t in attendance, was still honored. In a previous interview, he said: “I was definitely shocked… every teacher is deserving. This is a testament to the support of one another within the staff at FHS.” Each teacher was presented with a $500 check from the Fauquier Excellence in Education Foundation.
“It’s a huge accomplishment; I feel very honored by Fauquier County.” said Eileen Fitzsimmons, a special education teacher at Taylor Middle School. Katie Waddle, an LHS geography teacher, said, “I feel I have been successful because my school has been successful.” Brumfield Elementary kindergarten teacher Brooke Fisher said, “This is one of the biggest accomplishments of my career. I feel very supported by my school and administration.”

The jovial reception was catered by FHS’s culinary class and the FCCLA. The food included spinach pinwheels, Italian skewers, cucumber shrimp appetizers, stuffed mini peppers, and cupcakes.
Principal Kraig Kelican emphasized how big of an accomplishment this was. “They’ve been selected from their entire school from among their peers…They’ve worked extremely hard and absolutely deserve the recognition,” said Kelican.